EYFS and how it works
EYFS and how it works

The EYFS is the new regulatory and quality framework for the provision for learning, development and care for children between birth and the academic year in which they turn five (0-5).

The EYFS is made up of 3 areas of learning and development

  1. Personal, social and emotional development - making relationships, self confidence and self-awareness and managing feelings and behaviour.
  2. Physical development - moving and handling and health and self care.
  3. Communication and language - listening and attention, understanding and speaking

The EYFS also covers the following 4 areas:

  1. Literacy (reading and writing)
  2. Mathematics (numbers and shape, space and measure)
  3. Understanding the world (people and communities, the world and technology)
  4. Expressive arts and design (exploring and using media and materials. being imaginative)

The EYFS also looks at children's characteristics of effective learning.

Click here to visit the EYFS website